Epitaph Tablets – Honoring an 18th Century Korean Decedent

The Dearly Departed

This winter I spent a transcendent morning in the wondrous Musée national des Arts asiatiques-Guimet in Paris.  I was in heaven, enjoying ancient art from many Asian nations, including this unbelievably cool Chinese sculpture of  the bodhisattva Guanyin “with 1000 arms and 1000 eyes”.

When I wandered into the Korean art section, a reporter and her cameraman asked whether they could interview me for their Korean language tv show.  I assured them that I know nothing about Korean art, but they were so sweet and persistent that I ended up answering their questions (very ineptly).  Mostly I talked about the Arts of Korea room that opened at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in 1998.  I am pretty sure that I sounded like a moron.

This weekend I finally had a chance to re-visit the Arts of Korea room at the Metropolitan to learn what I should have said in that…

View original post 230 more words

Leave a Reply

