The Berkeley Mystery Walls: Scaling Impossibility

EsoterX

“Everything is theoretically impossible, until it is done” – Robert A. Heinlein

I left my unexplained walls near San Francisco. I left my unexplained walls near San Francisco.

In various abortive attempts at landscaping around the humble property I own north of New York City, I’ve tried my hand at building dry-stone (no mortar) rock walls.  You want to be ready for the zombie apocalypse.  Consequently, I’ve noted two important facts: (1) It’s a pain in the ass, and (2) if you have slightly more upper body strength, strategic planning capacity, and gumption than I do, it’s not the most complicated feat to achieve rudimentary results without getting a hernia.  Thus, whenever I read about megalithic structures, unexplained feats of landscape engineering, and the construction savvy of ancient man, my first question is rarely how they went about the project, rather why?

Now, just because I’m getting too old for this shit doesn’t mean that some healthy Neolithic…

View original post 876 more words

Leave a Reply

